Design Inspiration: Newfoundland Bog

I spent a few weeks out in St. John’s, NL, a few summers ago for a cousin’s wedding several summers ago.  I am always inspired by the rugged landscape of the east coast, and I took this photo while visiting my aunt on the Bonavista Penninsula, while out walking her dogs.

Image

I think the colours and textures in it are very deep and rich and earthy, and I created the basis for an interior with inspiration from this photograph.  I love the saturated green velvet of the sofa combined with the deep burgundy leather of the arm chair.  The combination of natural shapes in the lamps with the structure and detail of the furniture hits just the right note of wild and contemplative, I think.  The trunk coffee table picks up the reds and oranges in the speckled fall leaves, while the more refined side table lends a thoughtfulness that echoes my own feelings while actually there.  The bog was quiet and earthy, a very muted landscape, but with lots of details – moss, berries, rocky outcrops – that were apparent if you took the time to really look at the individual details.  I selected the rug for the mix of soft pale greens with the deeper reds and golds, to pick up the moss that just tucks itself among the branches and berries in the photograph.

Image

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

