Bring on summer

Life has been a whirlwind of happenings lately.  The move is mostly complete, although our house feels incomplete, there are still boxes in the living room, furniture that doesn’t fit anywhere, no artwork properly hung on the walls…  These are minor problems, however.  We have a list of things to slowly get our place into proper working order.  My priorities are find a new couch (I love my old one, but it’s time to move on… poor, sad piece of furniture), hang some artwork in some very designer-y groupings on the walls (I’ve never really gone for the decorating side of design, but you gotta start somewhere I suppose), and get myself a semi-studio set up so that I can do some more stained glass work!  I have all sorts of ideas in my head, lots of sketches, patterns and doodles in my notebook and a closet full of projects in various stages of completion.  It’s time, though.  Time for me to get back to the soldering iron.  Oh how I’ve missed the cuts and burns…  

This weekend we are heading to Calgary, AB to see Marty’s brother and meet our new niece, Halle.  Being an aunt really weirded me out for the first couple of weeks.  It made me feel old and adult, even though my rational mind was telling me to just knock it off.  I’m still a spry young thing, with plenty of time left before I have to do any of the adult things society expects of me.  The more photos that arrive of her in my inbox, however, the more excited I am to meet this tiny human being.  I feel like I don’t know anything about babies at all.  I can’t remember the last time I was in the company of a baby, and likely it was when I was quite young myself.  It feels like a lot of changes.  I’m slowly acclimatizing to them.

This past weekend Marty and I went out hiking.  The weather was as glorious as it gets in mid-May out here, so we hiked out 9 km to a place called Bear Beach on the south-west coast of Vancouver Island.  We camped the night, which was a bit strange and disorienting for me.  It’s been a really long time since I’ve done any camping.  I’d better get used to it, though, because we’re hiking the West Coast Trail in three weeks!  I tried to pack a bit heavier than I would like to for the WCT.  I think I ended up with a 26 lb. pack?  I’ll be trying to cut out down even further.  Tricky, though, when you have to carry a week’s worth of food on your back.  We only went out for the one night, but I haven’t been so tired (18 km in two days with 26 lbs on my back!) forever, and I was so so so glad to get in the hot shower when we got home!  I’m excited to push myself on the trail.  I think it’s going to be both harder and easier than I expect, on a physical, mental and emotional level.  It’s all about growing and learning and working hard, though, so I guess I feel right now like ‘bring it all on!’ even though there’s a lot happening and a lot changing in life lately.  

Leave a Reply

