A Little Bit More Painting

Put the effort in to try another painting this afternoon.  I tried another tutorial – this one of a lovely beachy sunset.  I have to say, it was more complicated than yesterday’s painting.  There were an additional two pigments to use in blending (there was a tutorial for blending the colours – most helpful), which was a bit more confusing, and I struggled to keep the paint on my palette from drying too quickly.  I used a lot of dry brushing instead of blending when the paint on the page was wet – I think my tones were too far apart and it ended up looking weird to begin with.  My notebook is not square (I probably should have just roughly painted in a square) so I stretched the image out a little bit, but I think it was fine.  All in all, with a bit more scrubbing and mashing of paints together on my palette, I think it turned out pretty good!

Image

I definitely think I need to find a solution for the paints drying out so quickly, though.  That was really aggravating.  Some of my paints are thick and old (half mine, half inherited from my sister), which really doesn’t help at all.  If you have any suggestions, feel free to leave a comment!

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

